2010 Illinois Distinguished Qualitative Dissertation Award Winners:

Category A: Traditional: Ifeoma Ann Amah. UCLA
Category B: Mixed-Methods: Sara B. Dykins Callahan, University of South Florida
Category C: Experimental: Mansha Mirza, University of Illinois at Chicago


The International Center for Qualitative Inquiry is pleased to announce the annual Illinois Qualitative Dissertation Award, for excellence in qualitative research in a doctoral dissertation. Eligible dissertations will use and advance qualitative methods to investigate any topic. Applications for the award will be judged by the following criteria: clarity of writing; willingness to experiment with new and traditional writing forms; advocacy, promotion, development, and use of qualitative research methodologies and practices in new fields of study, and in policy arenas involving issues of social justice.

There are three award categories, traditional (Category A), mixed-method (Category B), and experimental (Category C). Submissions are expected to address social justice issues. Submissions in Category A use traditional qualitative research and writing forms, Category B submissions use a combination of mixed method strategies, while Category C submissions experiment with traditional writing and representational forms.

An award of $250 will be given to each winner. All doctoral candidates are eligible, provided they have successfully defended their dissertations within the past three years, or successfully defended their proposals prior to January 1, 2010, and will defend their final dissertation by April 1, 2010. Receiving or being considered for other awards does not preclude a student from applying for this award . Applications are due 15 January 2010. The 2010 award, co-sponsored with Sage Publications, will be made at the closing townhall meeting of the Congress. For more information, please visit the website: DISSERTATION AWARD. During the Congress award winners will be showcased in a spotlight panel, where they will be expected present a sample of their work. Award winners will be announced by 15 March 2010.


Applicants should submit four (4) copies of the following:

  • A letter indicating interest in the award that includes the applicant's name, address, university, telephone number(s), e-mail address, department, date of dissertation proposal defense, and current status of the dissertation.
  • A letter from the applicant's dissertation advisor/chair recommending the applicant's work for the award and verifying the date of the dissertation proposal defense.
  • A research description of no more than five (5) double-spaced pages: approximately two pages of introduction and theory, two pages on the methodology, and one page on the significance of the work. Finalists may be asked to submit their full proposal or additional information at a later date.
  • One chapter, or writing sample that shows through example your direct engagement with qualitative methods and a table of contents from the dissertation.
  • A table of contents from the dissertation.
  • Finalists may be asked to submit their full dissertation after the first round of adjudication, closer to the competition closing date.

Submissions should be sent to:
Illinois Qualitative Dissertation Award Committee
The Center for Qualitative Inquiry
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Gregory Hall, Rm 228 (mc-463)
810 South Wright St .
Urbana , IL 61801
For further information email dissertationaward@c4qi.org

DEADLINE: 15 January, 2010